History of the American University

By | September 16, 2009

The American University was founded in 1893 and it was an independent, coeducational university and also Methodist Church related institution. It has main campus in Washington College of law building in 76 acre and 8 acre Tinley satellite campus is located the residential neighborhood of northwest Washington, D.C. The AU campus is a microcosm of the world community because here more than 12000 thousand students came from all 50 states and more than 130 countries like our students our faculty also come from around the world. American University curriculum, research and programming all have absolutely international standards and it is gives the global realities and opportunities of the twenty-first century. This university contains the six schools and colleges. They are:

  • College of Arts and Sciences prepares students for advanced study in a leading graduate or professional school or for a career in the arts, education, humanities, social sciences or sciences.
  • Kogod School of Business is the oldest business school in Washington, D.C., and was recently recognized by U.S. News & World Report and the Wall Street Journal as one of the top 50 business schools in the nation.
  • School of Communication is a laboratory for professional education, communication research and pioneering production across the fields of journalism, film and media arts, and public communication.
  • School of International Service is the largest, most comprehensive and most regularly applied-to school of its kind in the United States.
  • School of Public Affairs, ranked among the top 10 schools, it offers public affairs education on the undergraduate, graduate and executive levels. The school is also home to research centers and institutes in the fields of political science, public administration, public policy and justice.
  • Washington College of Law is one of the nation’s top law schools and has renowned programs in experiential learning, international law, law and government, intellectual property, business and gender.

American university offers 55 bachelor degrees, 51 master degrees, 9 doctoral degrees, JD and LLM degrees, certificate programs, and associate degree programs. American University is committed to preparing a creation of leaders who are generally educated, passionately busy, and capable of translating in a complex environment the lasting values which are the hallmarks of a human, humane, and civilized world. Our community lives by the motto, Ideas into Action; Action into Service.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *